My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Weekly Update: Jan. 28 – Feb. 3, 2013

Leave a comment

Since I didn’t finish the 10K week 2 last week, I repeated it this week.    I was still not feeling up to life on Monday, so I stayed in bed with my kitty & caught up on Tuesday.  That made Tuesday a very busy day!  Ended the week having ran two of my three days of the week, & did all three of the x-training/strength/stretching days.  I missed strength training, but I had a good day at tennis.  Hopefully this next week goes better.

Mon, 1/28
rested
~

Tues, 1/29
Stretch & Strength:
Fusion: 35mins
Light weights: ~10min
Running:
2mi
Average Pace:  15:56 (3.77mph)
Tennis: 1hr
~

Last Tuesday when I did my 2mi run on the treadmill, for the first time I didn’t let my speed slip below 3.7mph.  This week I was determined to repeat.  During a zombie burst, I got it up to 4.3mph, which is a record for me (previous was 4.2mph).  I was pretty excited about that.  My time averaged out to be about 15:45, which is awesome for me.  I’ve been averaging around 16:30, so that’s a decent improvement.  Though if I’d had to go farther than 2mi, not sure I would have made it >_<  I felt very strong after my run.

My tennis game was improved this week.  I hit a lot more returns & even managed to not give all my serves away during the matches, but I didn’t win any this week.  I did score a few times however, which I’m proud of.  I’m really having a lot of fun.  It’s just me & one other student & he’s nice, so it’s a lot easier on me than having several other people in the class.

Wed, 1/30
Cross training & strength:
Recumbent bike, intervals = 21mins
Step class, 20mins
Light weights, 10mins

~

I used some heavier weights today.  My arms weren’t entirely happy about the changes.

Thurs, 1/31
rested

~

Fri, 2/1
2.5mi
Average Pace: 15:44, 3.81mph

~

Getting faster little by little.  My legs are feeling awesome after my runs!  Mostly used 3.7mph & ran intervals up to 4.3mph.

Sat, 2/2
Cross training & strength:
Recumbent bike, intervals = 22:50
Light weights, 10mins
Stomp, 20min (intro video)

~

Went up on the weight on my shoulder exercises.  My shoulders are my weakest part, so that was pretty exciting.  I’ve also gone up on the higher resistance on my bike intervals.

Sun, 1/20
meh

~

Tried to run twice, but today just went to hell in a hand basket.  I have a 3.5mi run to catch up tomorrow.

Speedy Gonzales running

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers