My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

A Really Good Week! I’m Down In A Good Way:~)

Leave a comment

“A wise man should consider that health is the greatest of human blessings, and learn how by his own thought to derive benefit from his illnesses.”
~Hippocrates~ (Health Quotes)

Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out

The secret to success (& a really cute motivational poster). From Poster-Street.com

I was really on point this week!  I ended the week with eleven of my weekly points allowance left over & 32 activity points racked up.  Hurray for me!  At my weigh-in last night I had lost 2.2lbs.  Hurray for me again!  That leaves me just another 4.6lbs to got to meet my first 10% loss.

But as good as the loss is, I’m keeping my focusing on the NSVs (Non-Scale Victories).  I can control what I eat & what I do.  The scale however I have no  control over.  Why yes, I am mentally preparing myself for a bounce next week.  Hopefully it won’t happen, but historically it has been a big issue.  But I’m going to keep making healthy(er) food choices & enjoying my exercise regardless.  Screw you numbers on a scale:~p  You can not defeat me!

I have continued my walking & jogging intervals.  Loving it<3  Can’t wait to be able to jog all the way around the loop.  I think on Feb 1st, I’m going to test myself, go all out, see how much I can jog & how fast I can do a mile when I push myself.  Get a nice baseline & check again each month.

I also added in walking on the other days, adding weights a couple of days & doing some arm exercises with them when I’m done.  I’m already warmed up & holding them, right?  And I finally started my tennis class Tuesday.  Loved it!  I had so much fun.  We played for an hour or so.  I think I might actually end up being good at this.

Physical activity is a big move for me, as I have been primarily sedentary for years now.  Since I’ve been trying to lose weight I have figured out exercise is going to be the key.  I’m less hungry when I exercise more, especially for junk.

Also, for diabetes, PCOS, & other disorders that affect the body’s glucose mechanism, regular physical activity helps your body use up extra glucose.  I was told a minimum of twenty minutes daily was the magic number for this.  In my personal experience, it does make a difference.  Studies have shown calorie restriction loses weight, but exercise keeps it off (I’ve read this a few places in the last few years, so I don’t have a ready link for it).

If you read my Monday Mental Health progress check, you know my mood has increased & remained fairly stable.  I have been feeling a lot more positive & energetic.  I’ve found my anxiety & crazier thoughts have decreased.  I dare say I’m feeling almost normal.  I will still feel better when I get back into treatment to continue my counseling & already be in the system when I do need to add meds back in.

Oh yeah, I cheated the Bush Pres Library out of $5 this week by successfully beating, not just meeting, my Stickk.com challenge.  Woot!  I’ve also got a level 7 tree on Mindbloom.^_^

So now, let’s look back at the week:

  • Lost 2.2lb this week.  That makes a total of 22.4lbs lost since joining Weight Watchers.  Woohoo!  Just 2.6lbs to my next 5lb star, 4.6lbs to my 10% goal, 105.8lbs to my goal weight.
  • Attended my Weight Watchers meeting.  See above:~)
  • I tracked every day & stayed within my total points.  I do use my WPA, but ended the week with eleven of those left over.
  • I was active five days. Earned 32AP.  I’m pretty sure that’s a record for me.  The hour+ of tennis really helped there.  Not to mention adding in two more minutes of warm-up & cool-down to my walk/jogs giving me enough to snag 1AP for low intensity exercise.
  • Added more walking & weights to my week.  And tennis!  Oh yeah, & more stretching.
  • Drank water every day.  I’ve even been pretty regular about getting in two of my 20oz bottles each day this week.
  • Am not becoming obsessed.  I swear!  It’s hard keeping my growing excitement in check to keep it from overwhelming me & leading to an implosion, especially when the scale stops cooperating or I start slipping into a slump again.  I’m building habits to hang on to even when I don’t feel very perky.
  • Oh yeah, another NSV: My pants are feeling looser.  Score!

And my plan for this week:

  • Go to my meeting!  Inspiration, motivation, & socialization.
  • Track every day & stay OP.
  • Lose 1lb.  or more.  I’m flexible:~) (no bounce*no bounce*no bounce*no bounce*…)
  • Go to tennis class.  I also need to start practicing on my own.  Luckily we have tennis courts in the park & a backboard so I can practice solo.  Think I’m gonna need more than three balls though:~/
  • Exercise at last three days.  Not counting tennis.  I have six days on my schedule though, including tennis.  Should be easy!
  • Drink water daily.  Try for a 40oz minimum.
  • Continue to not get caught up in the shoulds or obsessing or perfectionism.  I’m breezy.  I work out.  I eat right.  It’s what I do.  Not a big deal at all.  Why freak out about it?

I’m so in control of this.

Glitter Graphics | http://www.graphicsgrotto.com/

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

