My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

I Want To Be A Ballerina

Leave a comment

“While I dance I cannot judge, I cannot hate, I cannot separate myself from life.  I can only be joyful and whole.  This is why I dance.”
~Hans Bos~ (Ballet & Dance Quotes)

Ballet

Ballet is the loveliest thing I have ever seen. Next to baby sloths of course. Image from GraphicsHunt.com

I know I’ve mentioned I have always loved to dance.  Specifically, I love ballet.  All I wanted to be growing up was a ballerina, but, alas, when you grow up in the rural south with two full-time working parents & three siblings, you don’t get dance lessons.  I did however take two semesters of ballet in college, & I loved it!  It was just as wonderful as I always knew it would be.  I have never in my life felt as beautiful as I did then.  And you know when you’re fat girl dancing around in front of a wall of mirrors in just a leotard & tights that means something!

I have taken some ballroom, jazz, & modern since then, but have had trouble finding an adult ballet class that fit into my schedule & budget.  Like many things in life, it tends to come down to have either the time, the money, or the opportunity, but rarely getting all three at once.  C’est la vie.

These days it’s the opportunity issue.  I have the time & probably could fit the cost into my budget, but there there are no adult ballet classes within an hour of here.  Sucks, especially with gas prices & driving an older, larger car.  But when I officially go back to school I may just do it.  Either at school, or hopefully finding a studio there with a compatible schedule.

Speaking of school though, that makes me think.  I drive 45mins for my tennis class.  Why does the idea of driving a similar distance for a dance class seem too far?  Hmm, that’s something to ponder.  In tennis’s defense though, the one hour class was cheaper than a similar number of months of dance classes would cost & I didn’t have to buy anything for it.  Plus, I guess I’m just a lot more geared toward the sacrifices of school, & have the idea of dance classes being too frivolous for such efforts lurking in my head.  Go away, lurking stupidity!

I will take dance classes again though, soon I hope.  It has nothing to do with weight loss & I’m not waiting to become something before I do it.  It’s just a financial issue & having enough going on at the moment.  But I will totally become a ballerina again!

Oh yeah, & on a random, yet slightly related, note: I found out at my Weight Watchers meeting there is a yoga studio nearby.  Better than a yoga studio, it’s also a hair salon.  How awesome is that?

Glitter Graphics | http://www.graphicsgrotto.com/

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

