My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Back from my sneaky hate spiral vacation…

Leave a comment

“It’s snowing still,” said Eeyore gloomily.
“So it is.”
“And freezing.”
“Is it?”
“Yes,” said Eeyore. “However,” he said, brightening up a little, “we haven’t had an earthquake lately.”
~A. A. Milne, From book Winnie the Pooh~ (Depression Quotes)

Picture of Eeyore under a rain cloud taken from hostbebe.tripod.com, no attribution given by them.

image used from hostbebe.tripod.com

So I took a little time off from blogging & weight watching & exercising to “feel my feelings”.  I got really down & just lost interest in everything, my brain lost the ability to keep up with thinking about & tracking my food, & frankly I was just in that place where my fondest wish is simply to die.  It kinda makes it hard to worry about other stuff.

That lasted about a week & I started feeling better.  I went to tennis class on Tuesday & even had lunch with a friend before class.  I started tracking again today & went to Weight Watchers tonight (& then came home & made a pig of myself at dinner…).  I’m up by 1.2lbs, which I expected so no devastation.  My goal this week is to get that back off.  No exercising also meant I lost my StickK.com challenge for the first time this week, so $5 of my money went to the Bush Presidential Library.  Whaaaa!  But now I am just more pumped to make sure I get in my three days of exercise each week for the remainder of my contract.

I am really pleased about coming back so quickly from my dark spiral, that’s very rare.  I definitely think my emphasis on keeping it casual & not demanding no less than perfection from myself went a long way towards helping.  I was able to let go of things that were weighing me down during a hard time (like tracking) & know that it was okay if I wasn’t working out.  When I felt better I would start again.  Granted while my mood has improved my energy is still flagging a bit & my motivation for some things, but I have already scheduled myself some tennis practice tomorrow, plus back to counting today.

I’m moving forward now because I didn’t need to beat myself up & feel like a failure.  And I’m claiming that as a WIN!

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

