My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

A Healthier Version of Peach Pie

Leave a comment

“What some call health, if purchased by perpetual anxiety about diet, isn’t much better than tedious disease.”
~George Dennison Prentice (Food Quotes)

Ingredients for making peach yogurt taste like peach pie

A few rather simple ingredients to boost a peach yogurt beyond its container.

Something new from the home non-cooking front.  My current yogurt obsession is Great Value’s Peach Lowfat Yogurt.  (I buy the four pack, so mine looks a bit different than what’s pictured on the site.)  It’s cheap, available in my area, & has stats comparable to other brands; not to mention it has a great texture & flavor, & actual bits of peach in it.  Not a lot of fruit yogurts can say that.

If you’ve been reading a while you know I like to add Fiber One to my yogurt to fill it out some.  I’m also a big fan of adding cinnamon & ginger to anything.  They both have many health benefits, which will of course vary by the quality & freshness of what you’re using.  (I’m not specifically recommending – or not recommending – my brands for either of those, but they are within my budget & accessible.)

So here is what I do to make my peach yogurt taste more like a peach pie (notice I said more; this simple method will not have you swearing you just ate some peach cobbler, but it’ll give you a taste of it).

  • Peach yogurt (you already know what I’m using)
  • Fiber One cereal
  • ground cinnamon
  • ground ginger
  • light brown sugar (optional)
  1. Scoop the yogurt into a bowl big enough for it & at least as much again in cereal.
  2. Add cinnamon, ginger, & brown sugar* to taste.  The sugar gives it a closer taste to actual peach pie (or cobbler, whatevs), but it isn’t necessary.   I like lots of cinnamon, but just a little ginger, & maybe a  tablespoon of sugar for the whole thing.
  3. Add in the Fiber One.  I probably use about 1&1/2 as much as the yogurt, but of course I don’t actually measure anything.  If you do the yogurt cup would make a simple way of doing it.  I like a good bit of cereal in mine, but not so much it’s dry.
  4. Mix it all up & eat it.  Voila!

Hopefully you’ll enjoy it.  Nothing I’ll be winning any culinary awards over, but maybe something you hadn’t thought of.

Completed peach pie yogurt dish with my spoon in it!

Tah dah!

*You can see in the first pic I’m using Domino’s “Brownulated” granulated light brown sugar.  This was something I decided to try for the first time.  It tastes well enough in this, or in the carrots I made for Thanksgiving, but when I tried it straight meh.  It has a bit of an off, maybe styrofoamish taste to it.  But it doesn’t clump & does pour easy, which are its selling points.  And it costs about the same as regular brown sugar & comes in a zip top bag, & the only ingredient in it is brown sugar so it doesn’t seem to actually be made with styrofoam.

Like I said, it tastes well enough in other foods, but I’d keep in mind how it does measure for measure.  Taste it for yourself if you try it & decide how much more you need to measure out for the sweetness you want, since it is less compact that traditional brown sugar.

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

