My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Oxytocin – Yes Please

Leave a comment

Just read this article & I think it sounds very interesting.  I especially like the delivery system of a nasal spray.  Hurray for not another pill to take.

“Previously, studies of healthy individuals have shown that intranasal doses of oxytocin reduce activation of brain circuits involved in fear, increase levels of eye contact, and increase both trust and generosity,”

Early clinical data also indicates oxytocin may help women with anxiety disorders.

“A hug or a touch that causes a release of this hormone might somehow change brain signals,” MacDonald said.  “We want to see if we can harness this response to help patients who suffer from depression.”

Treating Depression with the Oxytocin, the Love Hormone | Psych Central News

The article was brief & lacked a good punchy snippet, so I put together a bit of highlights there for you.

Currently, I am not on any anti-depressant atm, because my psych is still tweaking my mood stabilizer.  That’s cool, but if I don’t get one soon I may murder myself on her desk in protest.  I have been on a higher dose this month, & have actually felt worse, more blah & unmotivated.

I have exercised very little, despite the unseasonably nice weather we have had & the fact the long loop I preferred has finally opened back up after last year’s tornado damage & finally dried up from January’s flooding.  C’est la vie.

What I have been doing still is binging.  Thankfully, I just don’t seem able to manage the quantities I used to, so that’s good.  I am still eating more of unhealthy foods than I should.  Often I feel like a bottomless pit.  I am driven to eat regardless of hunger & do not feel like I can ever get full.  No amount of food satisfies, but rather I eat until I feel numb, or run out of food.  Whichever comes first.

As I said before, I am not following an diet plans or rules, I am just eating & trying to make better choices.  I have been eating more fruits & veggies.  My current favorite snack is sunflower seeds with dried cranberries; sweet, crunchy, & filling.

I had gotten into daily sugar munching mode, which exacerbates my binging & general bad eating patterns.  For the last three days though, I have not had any sugary snacks.  It is not by plan or by rule, I just realized one day I had did not eat any sugary snacks the day before & decided to just roll with it.  I can have them if I want them, but I really do want them to take a step back in my life & be the daily habit they so easily become.

I have been visiting a forum for over eating & binging, & someone there recommended xylitol as a sugar sub.  It is said to be good for your teeth & also good for sinuses & ear infections.  My research into the matter has my intrigued.

Hope everyone is doing well!  I have group therapy this week (blah, but maybe I’ll participate) & my next psych appointment is in a couple of weeks.  I expect a dosage change, up or down I’m not sure.  Hopefully we’ll get it right soon, so I can get an anti-depressant.  I am sure I need one.

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

