My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Stop Wishing & Start Working

Leave a comment

I don’t believe that wishing works. I think we get the things we work for.
~Brendan Fraser (Brainy Quotes)

Don't bother wishing upon a star...

(source: Jokeroo.com)

After I ran a mile, I posted this on my personal fb page in response to people who would say “I wish I could run” & other such things.  I had meant to tack it on to my post about running a mile, but I forgot & so here you go.  I did edit it a little to take out some personal details.

from my lofty perch of achievement, i’d like to say something. it might not sound entirely nice, but i mean it with all the love in my heart. (of course, how nice it does or doesn’t sound will depend on how much of yourself you recognize in it.)

when i talk about running, or a variety of things, i hear a lot of “i wish i could do that”. some ppl just say it conversationally, but some ppl are chronic wishers. i have been/am one of those ppl, so i’m not being judgy, but for those ppl i want to say

STOP WISHING & START TRYING!!!

i made being able to run a mile a goal for myself 2yrs & some change ago, when i was still living in h*********. since then it has been a journey of fits & starts. i would work at for a while, then fall off the wagon. a lot of the time i felt like a failure, but each time i was patient with myself & i eventually got back out there. it has made me ever so happy to have finally met my goal^_^ i still have a long way to go, but right now i am superdeeduper happy with where i am at.

i want this for you, too. but me wanting it for you isn’t enough. you have to want it, whatever it is, enough for yourself to get out there & make it happen. it might be hard at first, & it might take a long time to get where you want to be, but believe me it will be worth it. and that will only be the beginning. making those steps to becoming your better self will open up doors for you that right now you can’t even imagine are possible. but they are. you just have to love yourself enough to get started. & started again. & started again. & started as many times as it takes. i know you have it in you to get where you want to be. ♥

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

