My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Weekly Running Update: Oct. 22-28

Leave a comment

“I always loved running – it was something you could do by yourself, & under your own power.  You could go in any direction, fast or slow as you wanted, fighting the wind if you felt like it, seeking out new sights just on the strength of your feet & the courage of your lungs.”
-Jesse Owens

JUST RUN. "I always loved running - it was something you could do by yourself, & under your own power.  You could go in any direction, fast or slow as you wanted, fighting the wind if you felt like it, seeking out new sights just on the strength of your feet & the courage of your lungs." -Jesse Owens(Found at Favorite Run’s fb page.)

I only ran a couple of days this week, & don’t plan to run again until I get my new shoes next weekend.  Since I decided to exchange the Brooks, I’m not wearing them anymore.  Tuesday turned out to be the one run too many on my old shoes. I knew they were worn (it showed on the sole) but I couldn’t feel it prior to that day.  Thursday I tried running in an old old pair of shoes, but they were way past their prime & hurt my ankles & knees.  So I figured it would be best to just hold off till I get my Saucony next weekend.  I heard back the other day & they are in just waiting to be picked up. Yay!

I mixed up my routes this week & ran one for the first time.  Pushed out a little farther than I have been.  I’ve been researching 10K training plans, & when I get my new shoes I’m going to start on one of those next week depending on how I feel.  I’m on another round of antibiotics & decongestants, but I am feeling quite a bit better.  Surgery is still an option, but we’re going to see how this goes.

I’m doing all my tracking through Endomondo & have started tracking my walking warm-up & cool-down separately.  I still get my Earndit points for them, but they don’t throw off my running times 🙂

Tues, 10/23
1.57mi =30:58
Mile 1: 19:26
Average Pace: 19:40.9, 3.04mph
~
This was just one of those days you have where things felt harder than it had to be.  Went a different route.  Ran the nature trail off the park for the first time.  I’ve walked it & rode my bike through it many times over the years, but this was the first time I ran it.  I went in the middle of the day, on an unseasonably warm day, so that hurt me a little.  Mostly its shaded by trees, there is one section of it that is jut sun, sun, sun.  I did pretty good for a while, but when I got to the end of the trail, I had to stop & walk.  I walked to the road & back to the trail which was 0.2mi, then I ran the trail back.  For a good bit of the way back it was only a run in the most technical sense, i.e. it was running because I say I was running.  Hoping it’ll be better next time I run it.

I was a little disappointed it wasn’t longer.  I was looking for a 2mi run & thought that would be it, but it fell short.  I started to run, or at least walk, through the neighborhood at the other end, but then I thought I would feel silly running by all those houses.  Plus, my knees were feeling the old shoes so I decided it was not in my best interested to drag the run out.  I will run that neighborhood though soon, & I will haughtily ignore anyone who doesn’t like it.

Thurs, 10/25
1.97mi=33:50
Mile 1: 16:26
Average Pace: 17:09, 3.49mph

~
Today was better.  I was going for an even 2mi, but accidentally stopped my tracker at 1.97 so I decided that was close enough.  I ran once around the top of the park, & then ran the big loop around the park.  I went with the small loop first to prevent running the big loop & deciding that was far enough.

Speedy Gonzales running

Overall these days feeling pretty meh & unmotivated.  Had a really good day Thursday, but since then it’s been meh.  I blame Sandy & the sudden weather shift she brought.

 

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

