My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Weekly Update: Jan. 14-20

Leave a comment

“If you can’t fly, then run.
If you can’t run, then walk.
If you can’t walk, then crawl.
But whatever you do, you have to keep moving forward.”
~Martin Luther King, Jr.

Finished week 1 of the Hal Higdon 10K novice program.  Hurray!  I did all the workouts, plus stretches, dynamic stretches, & core work in my strength training class on Wednesday.  I took Thursday off, so did my “long run” Sunday.

I did all my runs on the treadmill this week, & didn’t collect good stats on them.  I’ve been figuring it up in my head from the treadmill’s info but not writing them down.  I’ve been running about a 16:30 pace though, doing intervals.  I’ve been starting at 3.7mph & running up to 4.2 & down to 3.4.

Mon, 1/14
Stretch & Strength:
Fusion 20mins
Kinetics 20mins (plus the 20min intro video)
Recumbent bike intervals:  21min
~

Tues, 1/15
2mi
Average Pace:  ~16:30
~

We also had our consult with the trainer today, so she took us through a strength routine.  I want to do some serious lifting, but she gave us a lady-weight routine instead.  I am so sick of being told I don’t need to bulk up, I need to lose weight.  Fuck what you think I need to do!  I’m telling you what I WANT TO DO!  Listen to me, okay?

Wed, 1/16
Cross training & strength:
Recumbent bike, intervals = 21mins
Light weights, 10mins

Strength training class:
Step cardio & body weight exercises, 1hr

~

I learned a lot of variations on the push-up today.  (I’ve already forgotten most of them.)

Fri, 1/18
2.5mi
Average Pace: ~16:30

~

Sat, 1/19
Cross training & strength:
Recumbent bike, intervals = 22:50
Light weights, 10mins
Stomp 20min (intro video)

~

Sun, 1/20
3mi
Average Pace: ~16:30

~

I stayed at a friend’s house too late & had a pina coloda, so I didn’t get to the gym until midnight.  whoops  I thought about quitting bunches of times, but I kept going & felt really good at the end because of it.  I also dropped my phone on the treadmill & watched it fly into three pieces.  However, I didn’t miss a beat & finished my run.  The battery had landed on the belt & been swept under the treadmill, so getting it out was fun.  FYI, you can’t move a gym-size treadmill by yourself.  I found a carpet tile & used it to swat it out.  The battery had a gash across it, but everything is working fine.  Woo woo!

Speedy Gonzales running

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

