My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Zombies, Run! 5K Training Week 1

Leave a comment

Screenshot of my completed mission screen for week 1, from ZombiesRunGame.com

Screenshot of my completed mission screen for week 1, from ZombiesRunGame.com

You’re Runner 5, a vital member of one of the last outposts of humanity at Abel Township. Over the course of an eight week, 25 workout training programme, you’re trained to help collect supplies and protect the town from the encroaching zombie apocalypse.
Zombies, Run! 5K Training site

Back on the horse! Finally, I started, & finished, the first week of Zombies, Run! 5K training program. Yay!  I’m glad to finally be excited about running again.

It took a little longer than planned.  I planned to finish it Friday, but I had an out-of-town appointment & the day got away from me.  Then I was going to make it up Saturday, but Saturday started out bad & got worse.  I had a depressive episode & it took most of the day for my boyfriend to get me to stop crying & get out of bed.  Sunday, it poured all day.  So Monday, Monday it was!  I had considered just skipping w1d3 & going right to w2d1, but decided it would be easy enough to still get my W2 runs in this week.

I’m still slow, but I was pleased I was able to run the entire 10mins of the free form runs.  I hadn’t really doubted I could, but I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to.  It’s been months since I’ve run for that long. >_<

My stats are a little skewed because Monday & Wednesday I didn’t stop the mission until I finished the trail I was on, rather than at the end of the training.

Mon, 7/15
ZR! w1d1
Walk 10mins
Walk 1min/Run 15secs x 10
Run 10mins
Time: 43:11
Distance: (didn’t record) ~2mi trail
Average Pace:  >20mins (<3mph)
Best Song: “Somebody Told Me”, The Killers

I don’t know why it didn’t record the distance, but I know I finished the entire 2mi trail.  I do remember I started the mission, then got caught up fooling with another app before starting the trail.  I didn’t spend too much time on it though, so not going to pretend that made a big difference in my time. -_-  I now live across the street from a beautiful lakeside nature trail, so it’s very convenient.  My warm-up is the walk there & I cool down on the way home.  I stretch before & after hitting the trail.

~

Wed, 7/17
ZR! w1d2
Walk 10mins
Walk 1min/Run 15secs x 10
Run 10mins
Time: 45:52
Distance: 2.2mi
Average Pace:  21:26 (2.8mph)
Best Song: “Discipline”, Nine Inch Nails

Again, I am not sure about the stats.  I run my Endomondo too, but I’m just going to stick with the stats on the ZR! site.  At least if it’s consistent in it’s in wrongness I can judge my progress.

~

Mon, 7/22
ZR! w1d3
Walk 10mins
Walk 1min/Run 15secs x 10
Run 10mins
Time: 34:03
Distance: 1.7mi
Average Pace:  20:29 (2.93mph)
Best Song: “Amazon”, MIA

This time I stopped the mission when it was finished, so the distance & time are closer to accurate.  You can see what a difference this made in my pace, since it doesn’t include the exhausted post run, uphill trudge at the end.

Screen cap of my w1d3 completed workout page, from ZombieRunGame.com

Screen cap of my w1d3 completed workout page, from ZombieRunGame.com

And why not cap this off with a video?  This was almost the favorite song from this Monday, “Cold Hard Bitch” by Jet.

Also, I lost my strength training routine when I had to replace my phone, so I am open to suggestions for good strength exercises to complement my running. Stretching too, I need to build a full stretching routine to do independent of my runs.

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

