My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Skeletor Inspires Us to Conquer Negative Thought Patterns

Leave a comment

Skeletor has the right idea!

Skeletor is Love added a new photo: “September 27, 2013”

Short & sweet today because I was gone most of the day & now that I’m home I can’t keep my eyes open. I am having allergy tests done Friday, so I am off all my allergy meds for the week.  This is not my happy place, especially during early fall.

I have chosen three articles on changing negative patterns in your life to complement the pic.  You may click them at your leisure.  At this point I have only been able to skim them, so hopefully none of them advocate ritual sacrifice in the fine print.

8 Tips to Change Negative Thinking
This one is a list linking back to other articles on the topic. It covers negative thought patterns, including black & white thinking, which is a big problem for me. There is also an entry on thought diaries & a sample diary.

How to Positively Change Your Negative Thought Patterns
This author dips into the law of attraction, what you think is what you get. One topic she covers I personally use is changing your vocabulary. When I find myself thinking I “need to” or “should”, I try to reframe it as “I want to”. It is so much easier to do something you want to do, rather than something you feel obligated to do. Same action, just different motivators. After all, why should you do something? Because you want the benefit it provides you. Why do I need to run? Because it makes me feel better mentally & physically, & helps me stay on an even keel, & I want that.

Depression Doing the Thinking
Obviously this one is specific to the negative thought loops of Depression, but by no means is it only information useful to those struggling with the illness. It lists six things you can do to increase awareness of your negative thought patterns & work on correcting them.

The picture is from the Skeletor is Love facebook page, & so it links back to it, but if you want more daily affirmations from Skeletor you can also check out the tumblr.


You’re good enough, your smart enough, & doggone it, people like you!
No more stinking thinking!

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

