My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Weekly Review: Sept. 28-Oct. 4, 2014

Leave a comment

Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
~Winston Churchill

Had a good week, except Saturday.  Saturday got away from me, but that’s okay.  The sun’ll come out tomorrow.  It’s only a day away.

Have five miles in on my 31 Miles to Halloween challenge & held my first drawing this week.  Have some extra goodies to toss in the box & it will be in the mail Monday.  Hurray!  I’m getting October’s prize together now & will be announcing it in a couple of weeks.

Mon, 9/29
Walked: 41: 24
~2.13mi
Average pace: 18:58, 3.16mph

That’s my estimation of four laps. My ankle started hurting in the 2nd lap, & I thought about cutting it short. But go me, I stretched it a little & took it easy until it felt better. My goal is only 30mins, but I’ve been going longer & doing four laps. I think it’s because it’s an even number. I started out doing two & the thought of doing three feels weird. Anybody else do that?

~

Tues, 9/30
Resistance Band, level 1
upper body: 3 exercises, 3 sets x 12
lower body: 2 exercises, 3 sets x 12 each leg

I’ll have more room when I move, so I can do more including floor exercises. I would like to add some stretches & body weight exercises but I am very limited atm. I’m still really liking the bands. Felt blah today, so I didn’t add walking into the mix. Mainly because I fell asleep watching Once Upon A Time on Hulu. >_< It was a nice nap, but it gave me weird dreams.

~

Wed, 10/1
Walked: 43:27
~2.13mi
Average Pace: 20:24, 2.94mph

Had to drag myself out today. I didn’t sleep much last night so what I really wanted to do was take a nap. And I was hungry but didn’t feel like eating, so I was extra slow tonight. Haven’t been listening to music while walking, don’t know why, so I’ve been having a lot of anxious thoughts & talking to myself. There were a couple of times tonight where I was telling me what a bad person I am & how much I hate myself then realized someone was behind me. >_< I’ve really got to get a handle on this talking to myself thing before I go back to work. I should probably go back to listening to music or podcasts or something while I’m walking/running to distract me from the constant noise in my head.

~

Thur, 10/2
Resistance Band, level 2
upper body: 4 exercises, 3 sets x 12
lower body: 2 exercises, 3 sets x 12 each leg

~

Fri, 10/3
Walked: 1:03:30
3.18mi
Average Pace: 20:00, 3.0mph

~

Saturday

Skipped today.  Getting ready to move & had some other things going on, so I took today off.  If tomorrow settles down early enough I’ll try to make it up.  If not, c’est la vie. Back to work on Monday.

~

When I was running regularly & making progress there was a Speedy Gonzalez down here, but right now this seems more appropriate.

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

