My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Whether it’s 2 or 22, your size has little to do with how beautiful you feel | AL.com

Leave a comment

Whether it's 2 or 22, your size has little to do with how beautiful you feel | AL.com
(photo from article)

Whether it’s 2 or 22, your size has little to do with how beautiful you feel | AL.com

This article showed up on my personal Facebook page, & I thought it was pretty great.  So, of course I had to share it with you guys!  It’s message is certainly one I share & promote.

When you think about your best friends, do you ever think “If she was only a size 2, I’d enjoy hanging out with her so much more”? Of course not. That’s ridiculous.

So then why do we think that way about ourselves?

Working toward becoming a healthy person is a good and worthy goal, something I should be proud of.

Working toward becoming a size 6 is not.

It’s just not. It is not good or worthy. It has nothing to do with being a healthier me or a better me or feeling more beautiful.

 

Read the complete article here & click below for a brief update on me.

It’s been a while!  Can you believe this blog is five years old now?  I guess I need to do a birthday post.  I’ll combine it with the 2014 review.

I’m doing really well.  I filled a three months supply of my meds for the first time & don’t have to go back to see my psych NP for three months.  Yay!  My copay was the same for three months as it was one, so that’s a little money saved.  That’s good, because I’m going to be getting my own apartment in the next month or two.  It’s been six years since I’ve had my own place.  I’m so excited!  I’ve been going out & have made a lot of friends, & I’ve been doing sewing & crochet jobs for people.  Also, I got a chiweenie puppy!  He’s so adorable.  I make him clothes & shoes. ^_^

As for exercise, these days physical therapy is it.  I was out walking for a few days while it was warm, but that was short lived.  Currently we are frozen here in North Alabama.  Thankfully, when the weather warms up again I’ll be done with physical therapy & should be able to walk/run without pain.  I still won’t be able to run for awhile though, until I strengthen my ankle & knee some more.  But someday…

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a Reply

