My Year To Thrive

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." ~Maya Angelou

Train Your Brain | Runner’s World

Leave a comment

I long to accomplish a great & noble task, but it is my chief duty to accomplish small tasks as if they were great & noble.
~Helen Keller 

 

I realized last night after posting my weekly update, I did not in fact already have a post queued up for today.  What I did have was a bookmark file of articles I’ve been meaning to blog about.  Ta dah!

Train Your Brain

I’m slow.  If you’ve read any of my running updates you know this.  I like to meander & daydream while I run.  I think about all sorts of things, totally random.  I have found when I focus on my running I am faster, but I don’t care much about being fast & prefer my ruminations.

When I’m on the treadmill, which is all the time these days, I don’t have much time for my thoughts since I’m watching the readouts.  It’s boring, so I like to play with my speed & do intervals.  I also use the Zombies, Run! app.  The treadmill is a lot less fun, but I do like being able to set my speed.

According to Gigi Douban at Runner’s World:

Knowing how you think on the run can improve your workouts—and your mood.

and

 “Running gives you the freedom to access those inner processes that the busy outer world often robs you of,” says James P. Brennan, Ph.D., an adjunct professor of human behavior at Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Pennsylvania.

The article discusses the four most common types of thinking on the run: organizing, problem solving, wandering, & pondering.  She also gives some tips on dealing with negative thoughts weighing you down during your runs.

 

Author: despitemyself

A person in flux.

Leave a comment